DWP appoints new Pensions Regulator chairman

Mark Boyle has been appointed as the chairman of The Pensions Regulator, as the current chairman Michael O’Higgins will be standing down at the end of this month, the department for work and pensions announced.

Mr Boyle is currently the independent non-executive chairman of Land Registry and was previously director and chief operating officer of the Shareholder Executive. He starts his new position on the 1 April 2014 for a four-year term.

Mr O’Higgins will have spent three years as TPR chairman when he steps down on 31 March 2014.

Article continues after advert

Steve Webb, pensions minister, said: “I am pleased to announce that Mark Boyle will be the next chair of The Pensions Regulator. Mark is a proven leader who brings a wealth of private and public sector experience to the role and I look forward to working with him.

“I would like to thank Michael O’Higgins for the work he has done in this role over the last three years. Michael has successfully overseen major initiatives including the launch of automatic enrolment and I wish him every success for the future.”