Amps names new chairman

Amps names new chairman

Zachary Gallagher, director of Berkeley Burke, has been announced as the new chairman of the Association of Member-Directed Pension Schemes.

Neil MacGillivray, the former chairman of the Association of Member-directed Pension Schemes, stepped down from this role at the end of September last year in order to make way for “fresh blood”.

He had been working on the committee for six years in total, the last three years as chairman.

Article continues after advert

Meanwhile Elaine Turtle of DP Pensions, Neil MacGillivray of James Hay Partnership and Robert Graves of Rowanmoor have been awarded honorary lifetime membership in recognition of their services to Amps.

The body represents Sipps and small self-administered pension schemes and the committee comprises of eight other representatives from across the industry.

Alan Finch is honorary secretary of Amps and is principal actuary for Rowanmoor; Claire Trott is honorary treasurer and is head of pensions strategy at Technical Connection; Tasneem Ul-Haq is membership secretary and relationship manager at Aviva, and Geoff Buck is committee member and associate director at DA Phillips & Co.

The four other committee members are Ian Stone, who is head of risk and compliance at Curtis Banks; Kelly Cullum, technical manager at Investment & Life Assurance Group; Samina Kausar, pensions technical and platform regulatory changes management for Investment Funds Direct; and Zoe Smith, compliance officer at Barnett Waddingham.

Mr Gallagher said: “I am looking forward to engaging with our members to see what they believe Amps’ priorities, over the coming year, should be.

"As a diverse industry it will be a challenge to meet the needs of all the membership, but it is a challenge we are excited to take on.

“Having been part of the committee for a number of years, I am looking forward to working with the new committee members, who will bring with them new thoughts and ideas.”