Government reappoints Pensions Regulator chair

Government reappoints Pensions Regulator chair

The Department for Work and Pensions has reappointed Mark Boyle for a second term as non-executive chair of The Pensions Regulator (TPR).

His renewed term will commence from 1 April 2018 for a 3-year period up to 31 March 2021.

Mark Boyle took on his role at the regulator four years ago, when he replaced Michael O’Higgins.

Article continues after advert

To date, Mr Boyle’s career has spanned the banking, FTSE corporate and central government sectors.

Lesley Titcomb, chief executive of TPR, said she was delighted that Mr Boyle was reappointed for a second mandate.

She said: “Mark [Boyle] has been our chair since April 2014, leading the board through a period of intense and rapid change in pension policy.

“At the same time, he has been instrumental in evolving our Board and working with me to develop our executive team during this period, ensuring we are well-equipped to play our part in meeting the challenges ahead.”

From 2011 until March 2016, Mr Boyle was also the independent non-executive chair of HM Land Registry.

Previously, he was director and chief operating officer at the Shareholder Executive, the specialist team based in the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (formerly the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills), which looked after a portfolio of government-owned businesses ranging from the Royal Mail to Ordnance Survey.

Before this role, he spent 12 years in senior commercial and corporate development roles with two FTSE companies, Compass Group and Rentokil Initial. The first 15 years of his career were spent in banking with Lloyds Bank International and Kleinwort Benson.