Amps appoints Tilley as interim chairman

Amps appoints Tilley as interim chairman

The Association of Member-Directed Pension Schemes, the industry body representing Sipp and Ssas operators, has appointed Martin Tilley as interim chairman.

Tilley, currently director and head of technical at Westbridge Ssas, has succeeded St James’s Place’s Claire Trott who took up the appointment in 2018.

Tilley will be interim chairman until the next annual general meeting which is due to be held in October.

He is well known in the personal pensions space, having spent more than 30 years at Dentons Pension Management, before taking senior roles at Hurley Partners and latterly Westbridge Ssas.

Tilley said: “I am sure I speak for the whole committee in thanking Claire for the hard work she has put in while chairwoman of Amps. I would also like to thank her for the support she has provided to the whole committee and to the membership in general. 

“I have known Claire for many years and know that she would not have taken the decision to step down lightly and we all wish her well for the future.”

Meanwhile Jon Cuin of Barnett Waddingham and Jade Murray from Addleshaw Goddard have been co-opted onto the committee.

Claire Trott, divisional director for retirement and holistic planning at St James's Place, said: “It has been an honour to lead Amps over the past four years, but due to my charitable fundraising activities and work commitments it was time to hand over the reins to someone else.  

“Martin is an ideal candidate as he is highly experienced, well known in the industry and his technical knowledge is second to none. I am sure that he and the committee will continue the good work undertaken over many years and ensure confidence in the self-invested sector.”

Amps has more than 150 member firms representing all parts of the industry: Sipp providers, Ssas practitioners, pension lawyers, software developers, banks and investment houses. 

The Amps committee consists of:

  • Geoff Buck, Vanguard Asset Management
  • Sarah Hawkins, Punter Southall Sipp
  • Ian Linden, James Hay Partnership
  • Andrew Phipps, Embark Group
  • Debbie Seaton
  • Zoe Smith, Barnett Waddingham
  • Tasneem Ul-Haq, Aviva
  • Joy West, Hartsfield Trustee Services