Chase de Vere’s Connolly sweeps the board

Chase de Vere’s Connolly sweeps the board

Chase de Vere’s Patrick Connolly scooped four awards at last night’s Unbiased Media Awards.

Mr Connolly won the title of Financial Adviser of the Year, plus Investment Adviser of the Year, At Retirement Adviser of the Year and Value of Advice Ambassador.

The title of Pension Adviser of the Year went to Wingate Financial Planning’s Alistair Cunningham, Mortgage Adviser of the Year was Middleton Finance’s Daniel Bailey and Highclere Financial Services’ Alan Lakey won the prize for Protection Adviser of the Year.

In total six journalists and 12 advisers were recognised for their outstanding work at the award ceremony last night (9 February), held at Vanilla in London.

Former Financial Adviser chief reporter Sarah Davidson won Best Protection Article while another former Financial Adviser chief reporter Holly Thomas picked up the gong for Best Mortgage Article.

Money Management deputy editor Charlotte Richards won Best Value of Advice Article, Financial Adviser columnist Jeff Prestridge scooped Best Investment Article plus Best Consumer Article and former Financial Adviser deputy features editor Kate Hughes won Best Pension Article.

FTAdviser and Financial Adviser news editor Laura Miller was commended in the Best Trade Article category for her coverage of troubled Harlequin and providers threatening the spirit of the Retail Distribution Review.

All categories were judged by a panel of industry experts and product providers, led by Karen Barrett, chief executive of Unbiased.

Ms Barrett said: “Journalists are recognised for excellence, adviser can raise their profiles, sponsors can be seen promoting unbiased advice, and consumers benefit through more informative articles and programmes. 

“So everybody wins – not just those who went home with trophies on Wednesday night.”

Best Protection ArticleSarah DavidsonJohn Fitzsimons
 This is MoneyWriting for Love Money
Best Value of Advice ArticleCharlotte RichardsPaloma Kubiak
(Sponsored by Lansons)Money ManagementYourMoney.com
Best Investment ArticleJeff PrestridgeMark Atherton
 Mail on SundayThe Times
Best Pension ArticleKate HughesBrian Milligan & Andrew Hosken
(Sponsored by The People’s Pension)Writing for The Independent on SundayBBC
Best Mortgage ArticleHolly ThomasEsther Shaw
 Writing for The TimesWriting for Mirror Online
Best Consumer ArticleJeff PrestridgeClaer Barrett
 Mail on SundayThe Financial Times
Best Trade ArticleChris NewlandsLaura Miller
 The Financial TimesFT Adviser
Financial Adviser of the YearPatrick ConnollyAnna Sofat
(Sponsored by AIC)Chase de VereAddidi Wealth Ltd
Investment Adviser of the YearPatrick ConnollyPaul Lindfield
(Sponsored by Schroders)Chase de VereSedulo Wealth Management
Pension Adviser of the YearAlistair CunninghamChris Daems
(Sponsored by Royal London)Wingate Financial PlanningCervello Financial Planning
At Retirement Adviser of the YearPatrick ConnollyJonothan McColgan
(Sponsored by Scottish Widows)Chase de VereCombined Financial Strategies Ltd
Mortgage Adviser of the YearDaniel BaileyDavid Hollingworth
 Middleton FinanceL & C Mortgage Brokers
Protection Adviser of the YearAlan LakeyKathryn Knowles
(Sponsored by Lockton)Highclere Financial ServicesCurain Insurance
Estate Planning Adviser of the YearCraig PalfreyJonothan McColgan
 Penguin Wealth ManagementCombined Financial Strategies Ltd
Tax Planning Adviser of the YearJonothan McColganPatrick Connolly
 Combined Financial Strategies LtdChase de Vere
Value of Advice AmbassadorPatrick ConnollyKusal Ariyawansa
(Sponsored by Momentum)Chase de VereAppleton Gerrard Private Wealth Management
Young Financial Adviser of the YearSean IrwinPaul Holiday
(Sponsored by Funds Network)DFP Wealth ManagementGreen Sky Wealth Ltd
The Bluebook Adviser of the YearJason HollandsGeorgina Partridge
 Tilney BestinvestPlutus Wealth Management LLP
Social Media Adviser of the YearChris DaemsJames Candow
(Sponsored by Standards International)Cervello Financial PlanningContinuum
Responsible Investment Adviser of the YearJohn DitchfieldRuth Whitehead
 CastlefieldRuth Whitehead Associates
Judges AwardDarren Cooke
 Red Circle Financial Planning
Unbiased AwardAnna Sofat
 Addidi Wealth Ltd