Your Industry  

FTAdviser named trade title of the year

FTAdviser named trade title of the year
FTAdviser reporter Rachel Mortimer (centre) collects the Trade Press Personal Finance Publication of the Year award from PFS director of communications Emma Ann Hughes (left) and comedian Jo Caulfield (right)

FTAdviser and Financial Adviser have won the Trade Press Personal Finance Publication of the Year award at last night’s Personal Finance Society awards.

The professional body’s top trade title gong was voted for by more than 100 members of the PFS in a poll conducted over the summer.

Meanwhile the personal finance section of FTAdviser's sister title, the Financial Times, also picked up a trophy, with FT Money winning the National Newspaper Personal Finance Section of the Year award.

Article continues after advert

The media awards were judged by Caroline Stuart, who runs Sparrow Paraplanning, chartered financial planner and founder of a firm of all female IFAs Vanessa Barnes, press relations expert David Andrews and Keith Richards, chief executive of the PFS.

Mr Richards said: “The Personal Finance Society Media Awards celebrate editorial excellence in the coverage of financial services.

“The winning journalists and publications vigorously researched their important topics and delivered balanced articles, written in a way that anyone could understand.”

Financial advisers also won top prizes at the Personal Finance Society’s awards, which were hosted in Birmingham by comedian Jo Caulfield.

VWM Wealth was named Chartered Firm of the Year due to the way it engages with charities, seeks feedback from clients to shape what if offers and works closely with universities to attract the next generation of financial advisers.

Meanwhile Gemma Siddle, director of Eldon Financial Planning, was named Chartered Financial Planner of the Year.

The PFS also handed out two lifetime achievement awards, both of which were given posthumously, to Caroline Mitchell of the Financial Ombudsmen Service, and to Linda Woodall, the Financial Conduct Authority's former director for life insurance and financial advice.

The other winners were:

  • Paraplanner of the Year: Lucy Talbot of Harrison Beale & Owen
  • Mortgage & Protection Specialist of the Year: Darren Pike of Clear Cut Financial Planners
  • Investment Specialist of the Year: Richard Jones of Oundle Wealth Management
  • Retirement & Later Life Specialist of the Year: Anne McClean of Smith & Williamson