SJP names De Mellow & Co as winner of chartered firm award

Search sponsored by
SJP names De Mellow & Co as winner of chartered firm award
De Mellow & Co Wealth Management joined SJP back in 2007
ByRuby Hinchliffe

St James's Place has crowned De Mellow & Co Wealth Management as its chartered firm of the year, a firm which joined the group's network back in 2007.

The national investment manager announced its sixth sweep of chartered awards this week.

They included SJP chartered planner of the year and SJP paraplanner of the year. 

A new award was also added to 2022's list: vulnerability champion of the year.

"These awards allow us to reflect on and celebrate the high level of service our partners provide to their clients and showcases the range of talent within our partnership," said SJP's director responsible for professional development, Edward Grant.

"All four of our winners should be proud of what they have achieved in their careers to date."

Winning firm De Mellow & Co started out in Clanfield, Hampshire, back in 1990 before joining SJP some 17 years later.

Managing partner Jennie Watkiss joined the practice back in September 2014, leaving behind a career as a primary school teacher.

The firm employs six financial planners, two of which are chartered - including founder Chris de Mellow - and three paraplanners, according to its website.

Other awards saw Matthew Sellens of Crown Wealth Consultants named SJP chartered planner of the year 2022.

Sellens was one of five finalists shortlisted for the award.

He began his career in financial planning back in 1996, and later establishing Crown Wealth Consultants in 2009.

Acknowledging his award, Sellens said: "After more than 25 years in the industry, reaching this milestone is a significant achievement and I would like to thank my dedicated team and clients for making it possible."

Meanwhile, Sajmira Ciarns of PFP Wealth Group was named SJP paraplanner of the year and Zoe Taylor of Lawrence Neil Wealth Management was the first to win the new award, vulnerability champion of the year.

The new vulnerability award was caveated to recognise an individual who has demonstrated a passion for supporting clients with vulnerable circumstances.

The group said 25 per cent of its partners and advisers now hold a chartered title awarded by one of the professional bodies.