Treasury committee appoints interim chairwoman

Treasury committee appoints interim chairwoman

Members of the Treasury committee have appointed Catherine McKinnell MP to serve as interim chairman until a permanent replacement is elected.

The position, which was left vacant when former chairwoman Nicky Morgan MP was appointed secretary of state for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport in July, was originally given on an interim basis to John Mann MP.

He was the longest serving member of the Treasury select committee and also chaired its sub committee.

Article continues after advert

However Mr Mann has since been appointed as an independent adviser to the government on antisemitism so has stepped down as an MP and therefore, the interim chair.

Ms McKinnell (pictured), who is a Labour member for Newcastle upon Tyne North, has been a member of both the Treasury committee and sub-committee — which examined the loan charge — since September 2017.

She also served as a shadow Treasury minister from March 2013 to September 2015.

The election for the new chairman of the committee was expected to take place tomorrow (September 11) but it has been postponed because parliament was prorogued at end of play yesterday (September 9).

According to the Treasury committee, the Speaker of the House will announce the arrangements for the election when the House returns on October 14.

What do you think about the issues raised by this story? Email us on to let us know.