Amps appoints Embark’s Phipps as chair

Amps appoints Embark’s Phipps as chair
Andrew Phipps, chair of the Association of Member-Directed Pension Schemes

The Association of Member-Directed Pension Schemes, the industry body representing Sipp and Ssas operators, has appointed Andrew Phipps of Embark as its new chairperson.

Phipps, currently product marketing manager at Embark, has succeeded WestBridge Ssas's Martin Tilley who has held the role of interim chair since February 2022.

Tilley took on the role from Claire Trott, divisional director of retirement and holistic planning at St James's Place, who was appointed in 2018 but resigned earlier this year due to charitable fundraising activities and work commitments.

Article continues after advert

Phipps said: “It is an honour to take on the role of chair of Amps from Martin Tilley, and I thank Martin for expertly steering us through the last 12 months which, like recent years, has seen a lot of activity in the Sipp and Ssas market. 

“The self invested pensions market is evolving at a fast pace and remains an important market for many entrepreneurs, small business owners and clients wanting to have greater flexibility and control of their pension investments. 

“We have an engaged membership that want to do the best for the sector, and I am looking forward to continuing to work closely with them to address the challenges and opportunities faced by our members.”

Amps has also appointed Debbie Seaton of SeaBridge Ssas as honorary secretary and Jon Cuin of Barnett Waddingham, Sarah Hawkins from Punter Southall and Jade Murray of Addleshaw Goodard were named chair of the compliance, technical and legal subcommittees.

Amps has more than 120 member firms representing all parts of the industry: Sipp providers, Ssas practitioners, pension lawyers, software developers, banks and investment houses. 

The Amps committee consists of:

  • Andrew Phipps, chair of Amps and works at Embark Group 
  • Debbie Seaton, honorary secretary of Amps and works for SeaBridge Ssas
  • Tas Ul Haq, honorary treasurer of Ampsand works for Aviva
  • Joy West, membership secretary and works for Hartsfield Trustee
  • Samina Kausar, committee member and works for Seccl
  • Chair of compliance subcommittee - Jon Cuin of Barnett Waddingham 
  • Chair of technical subcommittee - Sarah Hawkins of Punter Southall 
  • Chair of legal subcommittee - Jade Murray of Addleshsaw Goodard